Tag Archives: elly

Rick Foster’s LOVE, ISADORA returns Sept 20th!

California Stage revives Love, Isadora

California Stage will revive Rick Foster’s smash-hit show Love, Isadora starting September 20th. Professional actress Lori Russo reprises her Elly Award-winning turn as Isadora Duncan, the mother of modern dance, with Janis Stevens’ inspired direction.

Love IsadoraRusso, Stevens, and choreographer Tracy Eisenberg all collaborated with Foster in New York to present Love, Isadora during the Ensemble Studio Theatre’s Oktoberfest in 2006. California Stage’s 2008 staging of Foster’s play brought the four together again in Sacramento–earning Elly Awards for Russo’s performance and Stevens’ direction, as well as Jessie Talbert’s lighting design.

Foster has revised his bold drama since that time according to revelatory insights into Duncan’s life and work that have surfaced within the past few years. Now, California Stage brings the illustrious, illusive Duncan back to life and explores her passionate obsessions with life, death, love, and art.

Continue reading

12 Elly Award Nominations for California Stage

California Stage proudly receives twelve Elly Award nominations for its first two shows of the season — The Vanishing Point and Journey’s End!

Elly Award nomination, vanishing point
Richard Winters (Paul) and Jeremy Minagro (Pierre) in The Vanishing Point.

Producer Ray Tatar commended all the California Stage artists for their determination and willingness to take risks in service of their art. New plays like The Vanishing Point invigorate a company, Ray says, adding, “They force us to work together on a play without any preconceived notions from past productions. Our group understood the honor that we were given with Nedra’s play and AACT’s hopes for their new festival, so we resolved to give it everything we had.”

Nedra Pezold Roberts’ The Vanishing Point earned nods for:
Overall Production–California Stage
Script–Nedra Pezold Roberts
Production of an Original Script–California Stage
Direction–Ray Tatar
Leading Male–Richard Winters
Supporting Female–Emily Kentta
Supporting Male–Jeremy Minagro
Set Design–Buzz Weitz

Continue reading